CPIA Annual Meeting 2018

October 18, 2018, 2:30 – 6:00 pm

University of Colorado at Boulder  

Close to 100 people, along with 24 students presenting posters, attended CPIA’s 2018 Annual Meeting.



2:30 – 3:00  Check-in and Networking
3:00 – 3:30  Welcome, CPIA Report, Board Vote
3:15 – 3:30  Awards and Sponsor Presentations
3:30 – 4:00  Keynote Address
4:00 – 5:30  Student Poster Contest, Buffet Served
5:30 – 6:00  Poster Winners

2018 Annual Meeting, Dr. Hausken Presenting


2018 Annual Meeting, Student Poster Contest

Keynote Presentation:
Tom Hausken, PhD
The Optical Society (OSA), Senior Advisor
Presented ‘Hot Topics in Photonics’
Dr. Hausken’s Slides from the Meeting





Student Poster Contest:
The annual meeting is an opportunity to learn about current photonics and optics research conducted at ALL Colorado research universities. Talented graduate students competed for cash prizes with posters presenting their research topic. Out of 24 students competing in the poster contest, hree top winners received $250 and three honorable mentions were awarded as well. The winner, Alex Wilhelm from Colorado School of Mines, presented on “Ponderomotive Electron Acceleration Using Simultaneously Spatially-Temporally Focused Laser Pulses.”

Pictured left to right:
Ken Anderson, CPIA Board Chair Archish Muralidharan, Univ of Co Michael Grayson, Univ of Co Camila Uzcategui, Uni of Co Jonathan Gilbert, CSU Nathan Worts, Co School of Mines Alex Wilhelm, Co School of Mines Dr. Bart J. Van Zeghbroeck, CU ECEE Prof.


This year’s winner of CPIA’s “Photonics Company of the Year” award, High Performance Devices (HPD), achieved distinction in the industry and contributed to the photonics economy in Colorado. Ken Anderson, Chair of CPIA, is pictured with Orri Jonsson (on left) and Kevin Miller, of HPD.

Also honored at this year’s CPIA Annual Meeting, was Tom Mahony, for many years of service to the photonics community and CPIA. Ken Anderson is shown presenting the Outstanding Service Award to Tom Mahony.